On 08 July 2009, the Secretariat sent an e-mail to all CSLF Members, informing them of the upcoming election of Technical Group Chair and Vice Chairs and that nominations must be received by the Secretariat no later than six weeks prior to the meeting (i.e., by 28 August 2009).

The following nominations for Technical Group Chair and Vice Chairs were received by the Secretariat:

- Australia nominated Norway for Chair and South Africa for Vice Chair.
- Canada nominated Norway for Chair and Australia and South Africa for Vice Chairs.
- The European Commission nominated the Netherlands for Chair.
- France nominated Norway for Chair and Australia and South Africa for Vice Chairs.
- Germany nominated Norway for Chair and Australia and South Africa for Vice Chairs.
- Mexico nominated Norway for Chair and Australia and South Africa for Vice Chairs.
- Norway nominated Australia and South Africa for Vice Chairs.
- South Africa nominated Norway for Chair and Australia for Vice Chair.
- The United Kingdom nominated Norway for Chair and Australia and South Africa for Vice Chairs.
- The United States nominated Norway for Chair and Australia and South Africa for Vice Chairs.