

TECHNICAL GROUP

Assessing Progress in Closing Technology-related Gaps

Barbara N. McKee Tel: +1 301 903 3820 Fax: +1 301 903 1591

CSLFSecretariat@hq.doe.gov

Carbon Sequestration leadership forum

CSLF-T-2010-10 10 August 2010



ASSESSING PROGRESS IN CLOSING TECHNOLOGY-RELATED GAPS

Note by the Secretariat

Background

At its March 2010 meeting in Pau, France, the CSLF Technical Group formed a new Task Force to assess the progress on closing technology-related gaps that affect the deployment of CCS. This paper provides a background of the purpose and objectives of the new Task Force, and a list of its members.

Action Requested

The Technical Group is requested to review and consider the Secretariat's paper.

Assessing Progress in Closing Technology-related Gaps

Background

Following meetings of the CSLF Projects Interaction and Review Team (PIRT) in Canberra (01-03 February 2010) and in Pau (15 March 2010), the CSLF Technical Group accepted a recommendation that a new Task Force be formed to assess the progress on closing technology-related gaps that affect the deployment of CCS. The work of the new Task Force will complement an ongoing activity of the PIRT to assess the level of CCS readiness of the existing 30 CSLF-recognized projects.

The Chair of the new Task Force is Clinton Foster of Australia. The Task Force incorporates four Working Groups:

- Capture Technologies Working Group (Chair: George Guthrie, United States)
- Transport and Infrastructure Working Group (Chair: Harry Schreurs, Netherlands)
- Storage Working Group (Chair: Stefan Bachu, Canada)
- Integration Working Group (Chair: Bill Koppe, Global CCS Institute)

The Working Groups will focus on the progress of each of the key elements that will affect the deployment of CCS. The Task Force will provide periodic updates; and the participation of both CSLF delegates and stakeholders will ensure that recent developments and achievements are reported on.

During its Canberra meeting, the PIRT developed a checklist of technology-related gaps which has since been incorporated into the CSLF Project Submission Form for new projects being proposed for CSLF recognition. Initially, each Working Group will examine the gaps checklist and identify any mistakes, wrong issues, and missing issues relevant to that Working Group, which will allow the Task Force to produce a revised gaps checklist. Each Working Group will then assess how the current CSLF-recognized projects address these gaps, and monitor other projects that address the same gaps.

Task Force Membership

Capture Technologies Working Group		
Name	Country / Organization	
CSLF delegates and Allied Organizations representatives		
George Guthrie (Lead)	United States	
Jeroen Schuppers	European Commission	
Giuseppe Girardi	Italy	
Chang-Keun Yi	Korea	
José Miguel González Santaló	Mexico	
Arno Neveling (for Fred Goede)	South Africa	
Mohammad AbuZahra	IEA GHG	
CSLF Stakeholders		
Kourosh Zanganeh	CANMET Energy	
Peter Holland-Lloyd	Doosan Babcock	
John Topper	IEA Clean Coal Centre	
Mohamed Pourkashanian	University of Leeds	

Transport and Infrastructure Working Group		
Name	Country / Organization	
CSLF delegates and Allied Organizations representatives		
Harry Schreurs (Lead)	Netherlands	
Estathios Peteves	European Commission	
Nikolaos Koukouzas	Greece	
Aage Stangeland (for Trygve Riis)	Norway	
Mike Haines	IEA GHG	
CSLF Stakeholders		
Yannan Wu	Euro-Asian Centre for Environment and Education (EACEE)	
Steve Carpenter	Marshall Miller & Associates	

Storage Working Group		
Name	Country / Organization	
CSLF delegates and Allied Organizations representatives		
Stefan Bachu (Lead)	Canada	
Xiaochun Li	China	
Jeroen Schuppers	European Commission	
Didier Bonijoly	France	
Nikolaos Koukouzas	Greece	
Sergio Persoglia	Italy	
Shinichi Terada	Japan	
CSLF Stakeholders		
Robert F. Van Voorhees	Carbon Sequestration Council	
John Bradshaw	CO ₂ Geological Storage Solutions	
Olandan Davenport	Davenport & Associates	
Ed Steadman	Energy & Environmental Research Center	
Ronald Sweatman	Halliburton	
Rajesh Pawar	Los Alamos National Laboratory	
Axel Liebscher	Ketzin Project	
Steve Whittaker	Petroleum Technology Research Centre	

Integration Working Group		
Name	Country / Organization	
CSLF delegates and Allied Organizations representatives		
Bill Koppe (Lead)	Global CCS Institute	
John Davison	IEA GHG	
CSLF Stakeholders		
Robert F. Van Voorhees	Carbon Sequestration Council	
Arthur Lee	Chevron	
Olandan Davenport	Davenport & Associates	
Norman Shilling	GE Energy	
Mohamed Pourkashanian	University of Leeds	