

MEETING SUMMARY

Capacity Building Task Force Meeting Warsaw, Poland 06 and 07 October 2010

Prepared by the CSLF Secretariat

Meeting of 06 October 2010

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Australia: Bruce Murphy Canada: Siddiq McDoom

France: Bernard Frois, Pierre Le Thiez
Poland: Andrzej Guła, Marek Zaborowski
Saudi Arabia: Abdulmuhsen Alsunaid (Chair)

United States: Victor Der, Judd Swift, Andrew Paterson, Jeff Jarrett

Global CCS Institute: Bob Pegler

World Bank: Natalia Kulichenko

CSLF Secretariat: Barbara McKee, Jeff Price, Chris Babel

The Task Force Chairman, Abdulmuhsen Alsunaid, introduced himself and asked all attendees to introduce themselves (see above participants list). A brief review of past meetings, London and Oslo was provided by the Chair.

Discussion in the meeting of 06 October covered a number of issues:

- Roles and responsibilities of the Capacity Building Task Force and Governing Council;
- Voting rights on the Governing Council for non-CSLF Member financial contributors;
- Funds for the Secretariat to administering the Capacity Building Program Plan;
- The decision-making process for allocating funds to projects; and
- Membership in the Governing Council.

As no consensus was reached on these issues during this meeting, a second meeting of the Task Force was scheduled to address these issues during the lunch period the following day.

Meeting of 07 October 2010

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Australia: Bruce Murphy
Canada: Siddiq McDoom
Norway: Tone Skogen

Saudi Arabia: Abdulmuhsen Alsunaid (Chair)

United Kingdom: Jonathan Holyoak

United States: Victor Der
Global CCS Institute: Bob Pegler
CSLF Secretariat: Barbara McKee

The second meeting of the Task Force was held at noon on 07 October. Also attending was Victor Der, Chair of the CSLF Policy Group. Discussions continued and consensus was reached on the issues raised the previous day:

- The roles and responsibilities of the Capacity Building Task Force and Governing Council Capacity Building would follow the Capacity Building Plan as approved at the London Ministerial meeting.
- Members of the Council include Australia represented by GCCSI, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Norway, UK, and Saudi Arabia and the Chair of the Capacity Building Task Force.